British Prime Minister Liz Truss has resigned

She was in office for just 45 days - the shortest tenure as Prime Minister in UK history

British Prime Minister Liz Truss has announced that she is resigning as leader of the Conservative Party, the BBC reports.

Truss said that she could not fulfill the mandate for which she was elected. She will remain Prime Minister of the United Kingdom until her successor is chosen for the post.

She told dozens of reporters that she took office at a time of “great economic and international instability.”

“The country has been at a standstill for too long,” Truss stressed, adding that she was elected by her party with a “mandate to change that.”

She said her government had fulfilled its commitments to a “low-tax, high-growth economy”.

“I admit … given the situation that I cannot fulfill the mandate for which I was elected by the Conservative Party,” Truss said.

She was in office for just 45 days – the shortest tenure as Prime Minister in UK history.

Liz Truss was elected leader of the Conservative Party on 5 September and took over as Prime Minister the following day.

Truss’s troubles began after the budget update proposal she supported, made in September, was met negatively by financial markets. It even required an emergency intervention by the British central bank to support government bonds. This led to the change of the Chancellor of the Exchequer and strong domestic opposition among the Conservatives.

On Wednesday, Home Secretary Suella Braverman resigned, hinting that she had taken the decision after a row with the Trust over migration policy.

Thurs’s resignation today comes after dramatic scenes in the House of Commons last night during a vote on a UK fracking ban proposed by the opposition. Conservative MPs were ordered to vote against it. The government managed to win the vote, but calls for Truss’s resignation intensified afterward.

Among those tipped as possible successors to Truss is Boris Johnson, who was forced to resign earlier this year, Keith Molthouse, Grant Shapps, Sajid Javid, Rishi Sunak and Penny Mordaunt, and Defense Secretary Ben Wallace.

Join Our Telegram channel here: t.me/DiscoverPolitics

Related Articles

Back to top button